Who has experience living in Berlin?

Dit find ick knorke!
alma.freya

Who has experience living in Berlin?

Post by alma.freya »

I have been living in Emden for the last 4 years and I am now going through a divorce. I thought I would live here forever, however now my world and future have been turned upside down and I am totally lost. We have been separated since Nov and I have been living alone since the beginning of February.

I have the opportunity to take over someone's Wohnung in Wedding, Berlin, and the idea of moving to Berlin appeals to me. There is lot's to do, a big international community, job market (I'm a software dev who currently works from home) etc.

I am however very introverted and socially anxious, and I think the most appealing thing about Berlin is getting physical distance from my current situation. I worry that if I do move to Berlin, I won't actually make the most of the opportunities offered by the city. Instead I will just continue chilling at home and sometimes heading out of the Wohnung for a walk, or the gym etc.

I find it difficult to makes friends as it requires a lot of energy and I generally feel most comfortable when I am just on my own at home. I think the most appealing thing is the chance to take over someone's Wohnung for a cheap price. Without that I doubt I would consider moving to Berlin because the rent is so high.

I grew up in large UK city and found I also didn't make the most of what the city had to offer.

I am reminded of the saying: wherever you go, there you are.
Fietsrad

Re: Who has experience living in Berlin?

Post by Fietsrad »

Spend a bit of time in Berlin without commiting yourself, if possible. I think it is less "beastly" than London, a lot smaller too, and the trains are better, they run right thru Berlin, stopping several times, unlike the trains into London, which spew all the people out at a terminus. In Berlin you can just hop onto the Ringbahn (circle line) which is above ground!